New collective generates big research investment

Parkinson Society Canada’s leadership, in bringing neurological charities together, has resulted in the establishment of Neurological Health Charities Canada (NHCC), a new collective of 15 organizations that represent Canadians with chronic, often progressive, brain diseases, disorders and injuries.

NHCC’s role is to provide leadership, evaluating and advancing new opportunities for collaboration specific to advocacy, education and research projects, related to brain health. The collective is already having an impact.

The Conservative Party of Canada has agreed to provide $15 million for a four-year study of Canadians with illnesses such as Parkinson’s disease. NHCC members will work with the federal government to develop the framework for the research program.

The Ontario Government has committed to working with the NHCC, during the coming year, to develop a provincial neurological strategy, which may serve as a model for other provinces.

For more information on the NHCC, visit

NHCC Members:  ALS Society of Canada, Alzheimer Society of Canada, Canadian Neurological Sciences Federation, Epilepsy Ontario, Huntington Society of Canada, March of Dimes, Mood Disorders Society of Canada, Multiple Sclerosis Society of Canada, Muscular Dystrophy Canada, NeuroScience Canada, Ontario Federation for Cerebral Palsy, Ontario Neurotrauma Foundation, Parkinson Society Canada, Spina Bifida and Hydrocephalus Association of Ontario, Tourette Syndrome Foundation of Canada. 


Members of the NHCC met with Canada’s Minister of Health, June 2, 2008. From L to R: Kent Bassett-Spiers, Ontario Neurotrauma Foundation; Catherine Sherrard, Muscular Dystrophy Canada; Scott Dudgeon, Alzheimer Society of Canada; The Honourable Tony Clement, Minister of Health; Yves Savoie, Multiple Sclerosis Society of Canada; Jo Anne Watton, Huntington Society of Canada; Joyce Gordon, Parkinson Society Canada; Derryn Gill, Spina Bifida & Hydrocephalus Association of Ontario; Dr. Christina Wolfson, Neuroepidemiologist, McGill University; Inez Jabapurwala, NeuroScience Canada; and, Rosie Wartecker, Tourette Syndrome Foundation of Canada.